List of committees and commissions formed in India

Here is a list of different committees and commissions which were formed at different times by Indian Governments. These committees and commissions were setup with the objective of careful analysis of a problem which may relate to different fields. Based on the recommendation provided by these committees, several reformation or action is also taken.

Committee and Commissions
Committee / CommissionAppointed inReport SubmittedMandate
Ashok Mehta Committee19771978On Panchayati Raj institutions
Balwant Rai Mehta Committee19571957Recommendations on decentralization system
Chelliah Committee19911992Recommendations on Indian Fiscal Policy
Kalelkar Commission19531955First Commission for Backward Classes Commission
Kothari Commission19641966Education Reform
Malhotra Committee19931994Insurance Sector Reforms
Mandal Commission19791980Identify the socially or educationally backward class
Narasimham Committee19981998On Banking Sector Reforms
Naresh Chandra Committee20112012Defense reforms
Phukan Commission20012005Corruption in Defense Deals in the wake of the controversy generated by the Tehelka tapes
Sachar Committee20052006Examine social, economic and educational condition of the Muslim community of India
Sarkaria Commission19831988To examine the relationship and balance of power between state and central governments
Shah Nawaz Committee19551956To look into the circumstances around Subhas Chandra Bose's death
Srikrishna Commission199319981992 Bombay riots
Srikrishna committee20102010To look into the demand for separate statehood for Telangana
Thakkar Commission19841986Inquiry set up to probe Indira Gandhi's assassination
Vohra Committee19931993Criminalisation of politics